a town revisited, the border of water.

I guess, we can always find beauty around where we are, if we have the “privilege” to see that. Without that privilege, any place is as mundane as anything horrible that we try to avoid.

Problem is, we are usually the reason of the horribleness. Last time I checked, this place had been more awful. That was last year I suppose. This particular image is a part of a set of images I took quite some years ago. The area was still quite agreeable despite of the trashes, which, I suppose has become the primary element of our custom.

iitlviut

It was such a bright day. Being by the side of the pond, the reflections of light created a dreamy mood. I was attracted by the pattern, and decided to take them all in by dialing f/10. I didn’t really know where the diffraction might come in, but I knew it was safe there at that aperture. To balance the scale I’ve got 1/320 @ ISO 100.

Of course it didn’t look like this before. In fact i was quite “flat” to my taste, also, I thought the reflection of light was of lower intensity than what I thought I had seen.

The statement/paragraph above clearly stated the presence of our assumption upon deciding what constitutes “deep” or even “real” images, there are a lot of factors that would rather have their way. Sometimes we just put them all aside and give in to what is personally pleasing. Sometimes we think we work to achieve balance.

Here I stretched the histogram until I thought I’ve reached the separation, therefore “depth”, without sacrificing necessary details available in the first place. The drowned shadow among the plates of wood has been lost since the beginning, the sun naturally created such contrast. Then I added a bit more vignetting. We may discus the legitimacy of vignettes later on, but for this particular instance, I wanted to create that dreamy mood, which automatically pulls my attention towards the center of the “border.”

Later, I might come up with other ways to satisfy other kind tastes.

2 thoughts on “a town revisited, the border of water.”

Leave a Reply

